Difference between revisions of "Tossup-bonus cycle"
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Kevin Wang (talk | contribs) |
|||
Line 6: | Line 6: | ||
[[Category:Quizbowl basics]] | [[Category:Quizbowl basics]] | ||
+ | [[Category: Quizbowl concepts]] | ||
+ | [[Category: Quizbowl lingo]] |
Revision as of 10:03, 20 June 2021
Tossup-bonus cycle (or, in context, just cycle) refers to a tossup and, if it is answered correctly, its accompanying bonus.
The term is usually used in rules, for example:
- Timeouts may only be called between cycles. This means that if a tossup goes dead, a timeout may be called before the next tossup is read; if a tossup is answered correctly, a timeout may not be called until the completion of the bonus.
- In NAQT timed matches, a cycle that is begun before time expires in a half is completed. This means that even if the moderator is still reading the tossup when time expires, the moderator will continue, and a team correctly answering the tossup will get read its bonus, as usual.